Codes and Permits

The Public Safety Division of Alberta Municipal Affairs administers the framework established in the Safety Codes Act, including development of codes and standards adopted in Alberta, providing advice and technical support related to the Act to the public, industry, all municipalities and the Safety Codes Council, monitoring the work of municipalities, corporations and agencies that administer the Act or provide services under the Act, and managing agencies under contract to provide services such as permits and inspections for municipalities that do not administer the Act in their jurisdiction.

The division administers the regulated new home warranty framework established in the New Home Buyer Protection Act.

The division also houses the Office of the Fire Commissioner, which supports Alberta’s fire service and search and rescue sectors.

New Alberta Building, Fire and Energy Codes

The 2014 editions of the Alberta Building and Fire Codes based on the 2010 National Building and Fire Codes were adopted in February 2015, as well as the National Energy Code for Buildings (NECB) 2011 edition.

Click here for more information and details on when these codes can be implemented in Alberta.

Warranty Protection for New Home Buyers

The New Home Buyer Protection Act requires every new home built in Alberta to have warranty coverage.

Read more about the New Home Buyer Protection Act...

Builder Licensing Engagement

Licensing builders could help prevent issues before they occur.

You are invited to provide input on a builder licensing program designed to strengthen consumer protection in Alberta's residential construction and renovation industry.

Learn more about builder licensing, and take the survey