Funding Allocations and Eligibility

All municipalities in Alberta (i.e., city, town, village, summer village, specialized municipality, municipal district, improvement district, special area), Métis Settlements and the Townsite of Redwood Meadows Administration Society are eligible for Gas Tax Fund (GTF) funding. The program provides conditional grants for capital-related projects which meet the program eligibility criteria.

The annual program budget for the GTF is subject to Canada advising Alberta of the yearly provincial funding. Municipalities will be advised of their annual GTF funding allocations after Alberta’s funding has been confirmed by Canada and specific funding allocations have been authorized by the Minister of Alberta Municipal Affairs.

GTF funding will be allocated to municipalities on a per capita basis, according to the previous year’s Municipal Affairs Population List.  Municipalities (with the exception of summer villages) will receive a minimum allocation of $50,000 per year and summer villages will receive a base allocation of $5,000 per year, in addition to the per capita amount. GTF funding is provided to provinces and territories which in turn flow this funding to municipalities. Municipalities can pool, bank and borrow against this funding, providing significant financial flexibility. Unspent capital funds may be carried forward a total of five years.

The funding provided under this program is intended to supplement the current average annual expenditures on capital municipal infrastructure.  

To receive payment of GTF funding allocations, municipalities must meet the payment requirements outlined in the program guidelines.

GTF Allocation Amounts by Municipality

2018 2017 2016
2015 2014 2013


  • Date modified: 2018-05-31